A Hen Weigh

What’s a hen weigh you may ask? About 2 pounds.

It’s an old kid’s joke. It’s not terribly funny — but it goes back to one of the more fascinating parts of this journey I am on and about to get serious with. I am planning on looking at what a meal actually weighs and how much food the 4.3 pounds that is available for every man, woman, and child amounts to. Photos will be included so stay tuned.

This whole blog thing is really such a departure for me. I don’t usually write this much and certainly never expected folks to read what I was writing. I am flattered. And it is especially flattering to know that my 12 year-old daughter looked me up tonight and read some of what I have been writing.

I am really feeling the clock ticking down on this adventure. My start date of March 9, on Ash Wednesday is fast approaching. And with every meal I feel it growing closer and am getting kind of anxious about it all. I have never attempted something like this. And the thought of what I am intending to accomplish is beginning to grow larger in my mind. I deeply appreciate the companionship of my fellow pastors that have chosen to join me on this journey for their own reasons. Dan, John, David — thank you for your support and sense of adventure. And thanks for your concern for those that are hungry in the world.

I went back to the doctor this week. I was supposed to go last Wednesday but didn’t get there. This was my last B-12 shot. The shots have been to stimulate my metabolism. Kind of kick-start things. After the first 4 weeks I had lost 3 pounds. After the 8 weeks I have lost 6 pounds. I don’t know whether to be happy about that or frustrated. Six pounds isn’t much for 8 weeks. They lost that much in a week on the Biggest Loser. That works out to less than a pound per week.

And yet; being a visual, tactile kind of person that I am; I considered that 6 pounds is more than the bag of sugar

5 pounds of sugar

we purchase to make ice tea with each month. It is the equivalent to 6 packages of hot dogs.

6 pounds of Hot Dogs

In both bulk and weight that isn’t really too bad. So I am still not sure if I am happy about this or disappointed. Either way — at least I lost something!

 

It has been hard to stay at work today. Here is was sunny and warm today. That makes for some nice motorcycle riding. And I really would love to saddle up and take off for a few hundred miles soon. But before I can do that, I need to take my bike in for servicing. It needs an oil change, tires examined and aired up, brakes checked, shocks aired up for comfort, and just generally checked for possible issues — before they become problems. Kind of like my going to the doctor.

I went in to get checked out. The doctor looked at the usual things that get out of alignment and out of balance. He found a couple of things that need to be tended to and has done so. It serves the same purpose for my body that doing so serves for my motorcycle. It is better regularly check on things than to wait for a problem. If you do that with a bike, if something fails, it will be catastrophic. There aren’t many minor motorcycle accidents. And if you wait for problems to show up with your body, it can be catastrophic as well. many illnesses can be cured, repaired, or at least held in check IF you find them in time. Heart disease, cancer, and other illnesses many times can be treated quite effectively if we find them soon enough. So take time to have your health checked. I know it is expensive, but so is terminal illness. It can cost you your life!

For those of us here in the US, health care is a point of argument. For persons living around the world it is non-existent. There is no money to pay for it, no access to it, and/or no medication with which to treat an illness if it is found. And the sad thing is:

• Undernutrition is associated with more than half of all childhood deaths.

• Between 5 and 6 million children die each year from infections that would not have killed them had they been properly fed

• More than 2 million children have severe vision problems due to a lack of vitamin A.

• The lives of approximately 684,000 children would be saved by increasing access to vitamin A and zinc.

Here in the US we have access to health care, we often choose NOT to use it. I know there is a big discussion about this in our nations and the divisions are looming large. However, no matter how it is paid for, or how it is delivered — we have access. They often do not — at any cost.

The meals provided through Stop Hunger Now are part of changing this reality. Each meal contains a packet full of the essential vitamins and minerals a malnourished child needs. SHN’s highly nutritious dehydrated meals contain rice, soy, vegetables, flavoring and 21 essential vitamins and minerals. The meals are easily transported to crisis-burdened areas or supplied to school feeding programs around the world. The meals cost only $0.25 per meal to create, and each package contains six meals.

Stop Hunger Now uses the meal packaging program to target school feeding programs.

• School feeding programs promote education, encourage children to attend school, improve the health and nutrition of students, address gender inequalities, spur economic growth, combat child labor and create a platform for tackling global issues. Source: World Food Program.

• Implementing school feeding programs can cut hunger in half by 2015. Source: United Nations.

• Stop Hunger Now meals have been received in 30 countries, including: Congo, Haiti, Kenya, Nicaragua, Mexico, Tajikistan, Zimbabwe, Palestine, Burundi, Ghana, Liberia, Peru, Tanzania, Guatemala, Bolivia, Vietnam, El Salvador, Cuba, Nigeria, Zambia, Sudan, the Philippines, Sierra Leone, Nigeria, Honduras, Columbia, Swaziland, Uganda, Moldova and Afghanistan.

So while I am worried about what is happening to my health because I am OVER fed, there are more than a billion hungry people in our world today.  And 400 million of those are starving children.

You and I can make a difference. On Sunday, March 6 I will be sharing my journey with my congregation in worship. I will talk about some of the things I have shared here in this blog. And I will be sharing my journey to understanding and my decision to DO something about this situation. I will be inviting them to choose to join me on this journey — just as I have invited you to join me in doing something about this situation. I invite you to

Senoia UMC

consider joining us on Sunday. We will worship at Senoia United Methodist Church, 229 Bridge Street, Senoia, GA. You can learn something about us on our website (which is undergoing major re-design issues) http://www.senoiaumc.org. Worship will begin at 10:55 AM. Who ever you are, what ever you look like, what ever you choose to wear, what ever your religious background — you are invited to join us for this journey.

 

I extend to you again an invitation: Will you choose to care for the least of these? Will you choose to make a difference in the life of a starving child in the world? Will you choose to DO something? Will you choose to act?

Your tax deductible donation can be made out to Stop Hunger Now and mailed to Senoia UMC, Post Office Box 98, Senoia, GA 30276 and we will add it to our contributions and our prayer is that by the end of the 40 days of Lent we will have at the least, enough to package 10,000 meals. I am personally hoping for many more. I know that even in this economy we can choose to do more. Join me, won’t you??

Until the next time….The Hog Father

Leave a Reply

