Tick, Tock, Tick, Tock……

Well, the clock is ticking and tocking and time is running out. We are now 23 days into our Lenten Fast for Stop Hunger Now. That means we only have 23 more days to go. For me that means only 46 more tasty meals of a rice, soy protein, dried veggies and vitamins/minerals. Yes, it actually is tasty and filing.

I have been amazed that this journey has been much simpler than I ever anticipated. I have not eaten nearly as much as I anticipated. I have not been hungry. I have not a very difficult time preparing and eating the meals. This may change next week. I will be traveling with my in-laws for a few days. I don’t know where I will heat up my meals in the Magic Kingdom. Maybe I can borrow Belle’s stove? Or get Snow White to warm it on the 7 Dwarf’s stove?

We have been blessed by wonderful media coverage: The Newnan-Times Herald, 11 Alive News, 92.5FM The Bear, News Talk 1160AM The Talk of the Town, The North GA UMC Conference, The North GA Advocate. The good news just keeps getting told.

This new adventure of blogging has been quite a journey for me as well. I have fallen off of my attempt to publish something everyday. My schedule has just been too full and God only gives me 24 hours each day. I have asked for more but that is all God allows. I guess God knows best!

The only place we have not achieved all that we have reached for, yet, is our minimum goal of $2,500 per pastor. Each one of us is close, but we aren’t quite there, yet. There is still time for folks to share their quarters with us.

Our 4 for 40 Project team met last week at the Marietta Warehouse. We were confirming Stop Hunger Now’s ( Poster Final ) plans to join forces with Maguire’s Family & Friends in Senoia, GA for a series of specials on Tuesday’s in April to raise additional funds. While there we caught up on how it was going, our struggles, our discoveries, and our plans for the coming days. I took a stroll back into the warehouse itself and captured a few photos of the materials, and meals that were currently in place. This might help you gat a grasp on the scale of this effort.

 

l-r:John Mattox, Kyle Galenski, Dan Dixon.

A volunteer washing up materials following a packaging event.

Soy Protein in Bulk

Rice ready for packaging.

 


For those that have been following me for a while, you know that I have been not only working on raising hunger awareness and our ability to solve this problem, but I have also been working on my own health in trying to reduce my weight by better health care. Well, I am pleased to report that between this past Sunday morning and this Friday afternoon I have lost an additional 4 pounds. That brings my total weight loss to 34 pounds since January 1 of this year. I can’t really see it, but my belt and those around me report that it is happening.

As you get to this point in this note, I would ask YOU a question or two. Why does this material interest YOU? What are YOU getting out of my thoughts? What have YOU learned about world hunger and our ability to eliminate it? What have you chosen to do about it? If not now, when?

I am not challenging you to a war of words or complaining, but I do wonder where this is impacting YOUR life. I have had precious few comments to my writings. I have had a number of compliments in person by members of my church and community. And I have received financial support from a number of people. But given the number of people recorded as visiting this blog, and the literally millions of people who have heard our story on TV, Radio and the print media — I am not feeling it right now. (Yes, he has taken to whining.)

May I ask you to share YOUR thoughts, YOUR feelings, YOUR actions to this effort? Will YOU join us at Maguire’s on a Tuesday night in April? Will YOU mail a check or donate online? Will YOU decide to host a packaging event in YOUR church, business, school, neighborhood? Will our sharing together this journey make a difference in YOUR life? I know that through the funds raised to date that hundreds of children will get to eat. I wonder how many we CAN feed.

As I and others have said: We can make a difference — One Meal. One Child. One Quarter at a Time.

Join us?

Until the next time….The Hog Father


 

1 Comment

  1. LINDA MARTIN

    I AM VERY PROUD THAT YOU ARE STICKING TO JUST EATING RICE. I KNOW I COULD NOT DO IT. I AM PROUD OF WHAT IS IN YOUR AND THE OTHER PASTORS HEARTS. YOU HAVE TOUCHED MY HEART BY WHAT YOU ARE DOING. HANG IN, YOU WILL MAKE IT. JESUS REMEMBERS HIS 40 DAYS AND HE IS WALKING BESIDE YOU.

Leave a Reply

