A New Adventure in 2012

As you may know, during the season of Lent in 2011, three pastors and myself “Fasted” by living on meals prepared by Stop Hunger Now. These meals are packaged and shipped to schools, orphanages, and disaster areas all around the world. Many persons accepted our invitation to sponsor us as we took this journey. And most amazing to myself, I ate only Stop Hunger Now meals for 47 days during this time.

It is exciting to report that through my family, friends, and church over $5,045 was donated. This not only funded our local packing event of 10,000 meals. It funded, along with funds from Rev. Dan Dixon & Mt. Gilead UMC, a packing event for the East Coweta Middle School 6th Grade to package 20,000 meals.

That brings me to this blog. I need your help — and prayer for an exciting journey. I have been invited to travel to Nicaragua with Stop Hunger Now. This trip will be March 22-27, 2012. We will fly into Managua airport and stay at Casa Bernebe located 30 minutes outside fo Managua in Vera Cruz. Our group will visit sites where Stop Hunger Now meals are being served including ORPHANetwork sites and other Methodist partners.

The purpose of this trip is to see the successful model of partnership Stop Hunger Now is committed to by sharing in an experience with the in country partner. It also will proved an opportunity to see first hand a program where the meals are being served and meet the children who are eating the meals daily.  This will also help cultivate the relationship with the partner in country.

So here is what I am asking.

First, I ask that you pray for me as I prepare for this journey to Nicaragua and the experiences it will bring.

Second, if you believe in the ministry of Stop Hunger Now, and your are blessed to have the resources; would you consider a contribution to help underwrite the cost of this new journey?

The trip to Nicaragua will cost $1,625 all-inclusive (travel, meals, lodging, etc.). I have to send 1/2 of this ($812.50) by January 20 to confirm my participation. The balance has to be turned in by mid February.

Thank you for your prayerful support. And thank you for considering a contribution. Contributions can be made online: www.stophungernow.org/4for40 or by making your check payable to Stop Hunger Now and mailing it to me at: Senoia UMC, P. O. Box 98, Senoia, GA 30276.

I will continue my blog so you can see how things are going.

Until the next time….The Hog Father,

Leave a Reply

